The 1986 Awardees

Dorothy M. Brown
MA 1959, PhD 1962
Washington, DC

Dorothy M. Brown, a former provost at Georgetown University and a past president of College of Notre Dame of Maryland, received the John Carroll Award in ceremonies held at the Westin Hotel, Chicago, IL, on October 18, 1986.

Born and raised in Baltimore, Brown attended the Notre Dame of Maryland Collegiate Institute, and taught in high school for three years before enrolling in Georgetown's graduate program in 1957, Following a master's and doctorate degree, Brown was one of the first women to serve as a professor in the College in 1966, a position she held for 36 years.

"During the course of her career at Georgetown, she held a variety of administrative positions, including the director of the American Studies program, chair of the department of history and coordinator of academic planning," reads a release at Notre Dame, where she served as interim president in the 1996-1997 academic year.

In 1998, Brown became the first woman to serve as University Provost, serving until 2001. She retired from teaching in 2002, where the University's award for distinguished service in teaching is named in her honor.

Sophie J. Engelhard-Craighead
BSFS 1972
Washington, DC

Sophie J. Engelhard-Craighead, a Washington based philanthropist, received the John Carroll Award in ceremonies held at the Westin Hotel, Chicago, IL, on October 18, 1986.

The daughter of industrialist Charles Englehard, Sophie was raised in New Jersey and attended the Foxcroft School in Middleburg VA. Following her degree at Georgetown in 1972, she served on the staff of Sen. Mike Mansfield and later earned a master's degree in public administration at Harvard.

She served on the Board of Regents and Board of Directors at Georgetown when she made a leadership gift to found the Center for Refugee Policy and Immigration Assistance.

Following her marriage to biologist Derek Craighead, she moved to Jackson Hole, WY, where she served on the board of Craighead Beringia South, a wildlife conservatory. She holds an honorary degree from Colorado State University.

Dr. Anthony J. Federico
Physician, Alumni Volunteer
MD 1954
Buffalo, NY

Anthony J. ("Tony") Federico, a Buffalo, NY-based surgeon, received the John Carroll Award in ceremonies held at the Westin Hotel, Chicago, IL, on October 18, 1986.

Born in 1930 in Dunkirk, NY, Federico attended Niagara University and received his medical degree from Georgetown in 1954. Following two years in the U.S. Public health Service, he established a private practice in Buffalo, becoming a renowned specialist in the implantation of cardiovascular pacemakers. He served as regional chair of the American Heart Association and the American College of Surgeons, and was also as associate clinical professor at the University at Buffalo.

From 1984 to 1990, he served on the Board of Governors of the Georgetown University Alumni Association, and was chairman of the Annual Fund from 1983 to 1985.

Dr. Anthony Federico died in 2011 at the age of 81.

Charles M. Foster, Jr.
Business Executive, Alumni Volunteer
AB 1954
Wheaton, IL

Charles M. ("Mike") Foster, a Chicago based business executive, received the John Carroll Award in ceremonies held at the Westin Hotel, Chicago, IL, on October 18, 1986.

Foster grew up in Grosse Pointe, MI, and attended the University of Detroit High School before enrolling at Georgetown in the fall of 1950. He played on the tennis team at Georgetown and graduated in 1954, whereupon he served two years as an intelligence officer in the U.S. Army. Moving to Wheaton, IL in 1958, he served an executive at the Plymouth Tool Company for over 30 years.

"Georgetown was a central theme," read his obituary in the Chicago Tribune. "He loved the Jesuit tradition, and encouraged countless young people along the same educational and spiritual path through decades of service to Georgetown's Alumni Admissions Program. In the early 1970's, he befriended the basketball program and a young coach named John Thompson. His devotion to the Hoyas was legendary, and in 1986 he was appropriately recognized by Georgetown for his years of volunteer service with the university's highest alumni honor, the John Carroll Award."

Mike Foster died in 2011 at the age of 79.

Hon. Neil F. Hartigan
Attorney, Politician, Judge
AB 1959
Chicago, IL

Neil Hartigan, a former lieutenant governor of Illinois and an associate justice on the Illinois Appellate Court, received the John Carroll Award in ceremonies held at the Westin Hotel, Chicago, IL, on October 18, 1986.

Hartigan grew up in the Rogers Park neighborhood of Chicago, where his father was an alderman. He received his undergraduate degree from Georgetown and a law degree from Loyola Chicago, whereupon he worked as the legislative counsel for the City of Chicago and general counsel for the park District.

In 1973, the 34 year old Hartigan was elected as the youngest lieutenant governor in the nation, serving for four years with Governor Dan Walker. In 1982, he won election as state attorney general, serving for eight years, and was named to the appellate court in 2002.

Patrick J. Head
Attorney, Business Executive
AB 1953, JD 1956, LLM 1957
Winnetka, IL

Patrick Head, former general counsel of the Montgomery Ward Corporation, received the John Carroll Award in ceremonies held at the Westin Hotel, Chicago, IL, on October 18, 1986.

Raised in Washington, DC, Head graduated summa cum laude from the College in 1953 and earned two degrees from the Law School. He served as general counsel for Sears Roebuck & Company, vice president and general counsel for Montgomery Ward, and as a vice president and general counsel for FMC Corporation.

A former member of the Board of Regents, Head served in the Alumni Admissions Program and on the executive committee of the Chicago Campaign Council for the University's capital campaign in the late 1980's.

Patrick Head died in 2003 at the age of 72.

Thomas F. Schlafly
Attorney, Entrepreneur
AB 1970, JD 1977
St. Louis, MO

Thomas Schlafly, a St. Louis attorney and brewer, received the John Carroll Award in ceremonies held at the Westin Hotel, Chicago, IL, on October 18, 1986.

The son of a 1961 John Carroll Award winner (Daniel Schlafly, C'33), Tom received his undergraduate and law degrees from Georgetown before returning to his home town of St. Louis. His biography at the law firm of Thompson Coburn LLP provides a thorough tribute:

"Tom is a Saint Louis native and entrepreneur, and a fixture in the region's business, civic, and charitable communities. He serves on the Boards of Directors of the Legg Mason Partners Equity Funds, which oversees 40 mutual funds with combined assets of approximately $50 billion, and of Citizens National Bank of Greater St. Louis. He is the past Chairman of the Small Business Administration's Regulatory Fairness Board for Region VII, which includes Missouri, Kansas, Iowa and Nebraska.

"Tom is the co-founder and chairman of The Saint Louis Brewery, LLC, brewer of award-winning Schlafly Beer varieties since 1991 and now the largest American-owned brewery in Missouri. More than 70 Schlafly beer varieties are available in 15 states, plus the District of Columbia, and in numerous restaurants, bars, and sporting venues, including the Scottrade Center, home of the St. Louis Blues hockey team, of which Tom is a minority owner.

"Tom is trustee of the Saint Louis Art Museum and a member of the Board of Directors of the St. Louis Public Library, having been appointed and re-appointed by four Mayors of the City, starting in 1984.

"Tom has also served on the Board of Directors of the Downtown St. Louis Partnership and the Georgetown University Board of Regents. In 1986, Tom received The John Carroll Award from the Georgetown University Alumni Association. In 2000, he was honored as Distinguished Alumnus by the St. Louis Priory School.